Offer Aubrey de Grey an active role in the Dao

Offer Aubrey de Grey an active role in the Dao.

Maybe some people will roll their eyes to see me post again (it’s not like there are tons of posters here anyway). I might not be consensual and might be annoying, I’m not a scientist Phd but I like to propose new things and have things moving. My ideas are not necessarily good or clever.

So, Aubrey de Grey just lost is position (again?) at the Sense foundation that he created over the non respect of an agreement he signed with the board. Long story short, he is accused of non respecting a fitness for Duty agreement over a drinking habit. As someone commented on Reddit: “Maybe I’m missing something here, but unless someone’s drinking habit is interfering with their work performance, I don’t understand why it’s their employers’ business?” I also agree with that.

Anyway, Mr Aubrey dispute the whole story, mentioning the board wanting “to get rid of” him (again):

Mr Aubrey had, as some might know, past accusations of sexual harassment. Of course, this is a serious matter, but these accusations did not lead to anything concrete, even the announcement from Sense emphasise on the subject.

Pros:

• He has a lot of followers.

• He is a leader.

• He has a worldwide aura.

• He is a figure, a recognisable face for a project.

• Lot of knowledge on the subject.

• Good advices, to guide the future of the project.

• Press relation, interviews and general recognition.

Cons:

• Past accusations that could tarnish one’s reputation.

• His image could be unwelcoming for female researchers, or other investors.

• Drinking habit incompatible with longevity goals.

• Stability in a project relative to the dispute with the board of his own created foundation.

Offering him an active role now would be seen as an open gesture. He might join back the Sense Foundation or he might join new endeavours in the future.

• Agree
  • Disagree

0 voters

1 Like