Tool chain for Longevity research

Hi All, I was hoping to start a discussion on the longevity research tool chain. Perhaps we could identify projects for the development of research tools that could be used by the scientific community, build creating the shovels to help people find the gold. Are there projects we can fund to develop such as:

• new model organism strains to store with ATCC
  • Genetic constructs to be stored with Addgene
  • General purpose longevity functional or phenotypic assays that could be deployed at CROs or cloud labs
  • Compound libraries of possible therapeutics and analogs for high throughput screening
  • Target ID or MoA determination procedures
  • Clinical trial guidelines / endpoints / biomarkers
6 Likes

Absolutely agree. I’m not an expert in the biotech industry but IMO we can learn a lot from the tech industry. There’s a lot of research on how big tech firms (like Microsoft, Google, Amazon, IBM and others) fund open source software, most prominently Linux for their server infrastructure. I would think that these principles and game theoretical-models behind this dynamic in the tech industry are at least somewhat transferrable to VitaDAO’s environment, so the intersection of biopharma and cryptonetworks.

3 Likes

Great idea. There are a lot of open source, free databases for researchers. Shall we start collecting a list of these as well ? We could then conduct any evaluation faster. Also would be helpful to see what is really innovative.

3 Likes

The question is if these are fit for our model to fund longevity research and collectively own the intellectual property surrounding it…

some could also be fit for funding through our planned https://gitcoin.co/ round focused on longevity, and others might be a great fit.

But 100% agree that building better tools for longevity research and startups is key and a bottleneck.

2 Likes