SG 0.1c - Onboarding videos for Strategic Goal - Increase Community Size

Season 0.1 - Increase Community Size

Summary

Increase the number of people in the community by spreading awareness, making it easier to login, and making it smoother to onboard.

Relevance to Strategic Plan

I’d like to make onboarding videos to make the process smoother, which would theoretically entice more people to onboard.

Budget

Since I’m a total newbie, it’s not obvious to me how long or complicated the onboarding flow is (and therefore how much work will be required to make onboarding videos).

But, for the sake of estimating, let’s say 30 minutes worth of videos needs to be made, and let’s say there will be 6 videos at 5 minutes each (6 x 5 = 30). I would estimate each video will take 10 hours to make. I will bill at $80/hr. So I estimate the total price to be $80/hr * 6 videos * 10 hours = $4,800.

VitaDAO’s available funds

For context, (as of Feb 1st, 2023) VitaDAO funded 15+ projects with $3.5m+, and has ~$4.5m in liquid funds remaining (before further fundraising), which will be used for:

1. Funding new projects
  2. Operations, including sourcing, incubation, evaluation, & community growth
  3. Follow-on funding, including for projects VitaDAO will spin out

Motivation

From Strategic Goal - Increase Community Size:
gov. vitadao. com + /t/season-0-1-increase-community-size/1145
(sorry for formatting, i am unable to post links)

A consistent request we’ve received from our onboarding process is video and other interactive onboarding contents. We’d like to see this content made by the experts — new community members who recently went through the onboarding experience.

A series of onboarding videos hyper-specific to new community members made by someone who just want through the onboarding flow would be extremely beneficial.

Specification

*Project Lead: joshm#7575 - who is also willing to take on the Team role of lead (has not joined the discord, yet)

*Team: joshm#7575